portfolio web templates

Campi Flegrei
Itineraries for students

🇬🇧 Mini Daily Pozzuoli

Itinerary:
1. Flavio Amphitheatre
2. Macellum also called Temple of Serapis

9.30 a.m. Departure from the Flavian Amphitheatre entrance
The Flavio Amphitheatre, also called Maggiore, is the third largest after the one in Rome and in Capua. It is divided into three rings closed at the top by an attic and at the bottom by an external arcade with an elliptical plan built on travertine slabs. The piperno pillars were consolidated later in brick. From the arcade 4 main and 12 secondary entrances, from the corridor 20 flights of stairs, allowed influx of about 40.000 spectators.
Begun under Nero and completed by Vespasiano (69-96 A.C.), it measures m. 149 x 116 (arenas m.75 x 42). Under the podium of the arena there are the underground corridors with the space to the service of the shows. The undergrounds are well preserved so it was possible to study the complex system of lifting cages with beasts.
In 305, under the persecution of Diocletian, seven Christian martyrs were exposed into the arena: Gennaro, Festo and Desiderio from Benevento, Sossio from Miseno and Procolo, Eutiche and Acuzie from Pozzuoli, they were beheaded near to the Solfatara.
In the Middle Ages it was stripped of the construction materials and many statues that shattered produced lime.
After that, we proceed with the visit to the “Macellum” – Commonly known with the name of “Temple of Serapis”, owing to the discovery of the statue of “Jupiter Serapis” an Egyptian deity, it represents the most significant monument of the urban coastal area. The large quadrangular room with the porticoed courtyard in the centre, granite columns and four cipollino columns, is actually the most food market of antiquity. Races, goods, cults, rituals from anywhere were crossed here confirming the extraordinary role that Puteoli had in ancient time.
But the Serapeum owes its fame also to the phenomenon of Phlegrean bradyseism: the three Corinthian pillars of cipollino, perforated by the lithodomas (mollusks perforating the stone), give us the right measure of the submersion of the building in the sea.

02:30 p.m. End of our services – free time to go for a walk around Pozzuoli
⚠- To optimize the organization, we reserve the right to manage the sequence of visits at our discretion.

DOWNLOAD BROCHURE

PRICE € 4,00 (1 teacher free every 10 students)
Reservation required baiasommersa@yahoo.it or phone +39.349.497.4183

🇬🇧 Arkeotour Misenum

Itinerary:
1. Cave of the Dragonara - 2. Church of Saint Sossio – 3. Theatre Misenum - 4. Sacello degli Augustali

9.30 a.m. Departure from Miseno

Visit to the Cave of Dragonara
The itinerary starts from the beach of Miseno, where you can enter armed with torches in a majestic cistern (50x59 mt) dug entirely into the tufa with barrel vaulted roof, divided in five naves and four rows of somewhat irregular pillars. Unlike Mirabilis Pool, it is common thought that this tank was created for private use since the time of Saracens, also for the discovery of nymphaeums and fish ponds currently submerged between the beach and ridge. In the past it was known as Traconaria cave from “tracori” which in Greek indicates tortuos paths dug in the depth of the rock.

Visit to the church of Saint Sossio (external)
The tour continues with the little church dedicated to Saint Sossio, it had a very ancient origin but subject to continuous transformations beginning with the reconstruction carried out after the plundering of Saracens in the 9th century b.C. In 905 the remains of the Saint were moved to Naples at the church of San Severino and in 1807 to Frattamaggiore. It is a small open-air museum: pieces of marble, majestic capitals, stretch of columns and a polycromy of marble pierced by lithodomes that mark the results of the sea due to bradyseism, but the most beautiful relic is the headstone placed in 1905 by the people of Frattamaggiore for his 1600 years anniversary of his martydom.

Visit to the Misenum Theatre
We proceed with the visit to the Theatre that was built using the slope of the hill; part of the scene and the cavea are still preserved, with the stairs between wedges and the vomitoria. Three rooms are still visible, more than 6 metres high, carved directly into the tufa and covered in vittata and cocciopesto work and a long annular corridor from which it is possible to perceive the insertion of radial tunnels. Characteristic of the theatre was the presence of a tunnel that, from the thirteenth arch of this corridor, reached, crossing the hill, the ancient Herculea Street so that the port.

Visit to the Sacello degli Augustali (external)
At the end of our visit we proceed towards a building destined for the imperial cult, composed by three sites (worship’s room and two service rooms) where the marble statues of Titus and Vespasian were found, the equestrian statue of Domiziano-Nerva and a collection of sculptures and fragments, today preserved into the Archeological Museum of the Castle of Baia. The monument dated back to the Augustan period with restoration and reconstruction, the most important at the time of Marcus Aurelio (161 d.C.). The courtyard, because of subsidence phenomena, results submerged by the water coming from an underlying groundwater. The building has been occupied for some time by a nice colony of squawking geese, the only templars to guard the temple.

01:00 p.m. End of our services

⚠- To optimize the organization, we reserve the right to manage the sequence of visits at our discretion.

DOWNLOAD BROCHURE

PRICE € 5,00 per student, € 5,00 per adult (1 teacher free every 10 students)

Reservation required baiasommersa@yahoo.it or phone +39.349.497.4183